BEST SONGS OF 2012: #11-30

 

Honorable Mention: Miguel – “Adorn”

I had to make sure I got some real R&B on this list. I could even use the word soul for this track. Miguel brings some much needed, and much lacking, adult love-making music to the radio. We desperately need some more of this. Makes me miss Aaliyah just thinking about it.

30. Cam Meekins – “Cut Me Off”

This year I discovered the biggest abomination to Hip-Hop called Frat Rap. It’s a bunch of BMOC’s who are still actually in College, touring together and playing at other colleges. It’s like a legion of Marky Mark’s. It’s terrible. Cam Meekins, who may actually have coined the phrase, swears to be quite the opposite. His effortless flow, and siick sample of Gotye, definitely stopped me in my tracks the first time I heard it and separates him from those Bro Frat Rappers.

29. 14th – “Hide Yourself”

14th are kinda indescribable. I made up the fun title of Boom-Snap to try and describe that sound of R&B and Electronica that the UK seems to be churning out so brilliantly right now. As a blogger sometime I have to try and make the indescribable, describable.

28. Grimes – “Genesis”

Everyone seems to love Grimes this year. Especially most women I’ve talked to. I thought she became a little overhyped as the year went on, but I can’t hate, I was spinning this track all year. This a slightly strange, yet pretty song, much like Grimes herself. We are all caught in her mysterious web. But through all of her weirdness I thought this was the most accessible song on her album. Which is why I guess it was a single.

27. Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – “Baby”

There’s a long story behind this song which can be found HERE. The bottom line is Ariel Pink covered a great 70’s song. And I can’t separate it from the remix, so I’ve included both.

** BONUS: 

26. Kendrick Lamar ft. Drake – “Poetic Justice”

That sexy ass Janet Sample is what made this the song that made me buy the album. But, Kendrick is someone else who I thought was a little over-hyped this year. People get a little carried away sometimes. Like ‘Kendrick is the rebirth of LA Hip-Hop’ and ‘who needs Pac or the new Dre album’…. CALM THE FUCK DOWN! Dude’s good. Good production and smooth flow. Not a revolution

25. Disclosure – “What’s In Your Head”

After the over-saturation of hard electro at Coachella and on the radio, I’m hoping and predicting that we see a lot more Soulful house in the new year. Disclosure seemed to lead the pack of a slew of producer/DJs that include Soul Clap and Azari & III

24. Bonde Do Role – “Kilo”

The band that made me pay attention to Baile Funk came back with a funky, Diplo-produced banger that always put me in a good mood. And that video is crazay.

23. Amine Edge & Dance – “Going to Heaven With the Goodie-Goodies”

This track is the most recent discovery on the list. Amine Edge & DANCE are twins (I believe) from France who make what they call Gangsta House. After you hear what they did to a line from the Notorious B.I.G. you’d have to agree.

22. Flight Facilities ft. Grovesnor – “With You”

Flight Facilities released their Singles EP which includes this, a ton of remixes and their earlier hit “Crave You”. I really dug Crave You, but gave it no love when it dropped. It kinda just fell through the cracks. But their newest single “With You” is a worthy follow up. Not as uobeat as Crave but injected with that dope ass Flight Facilities indie-dance sound.

21. Electric Guest – “Troubleman”

Electric Guest are lead by a charismatic frontman and make great pop songs. But their tour de force is this ambitious 8 and a half minute epic that an 80’s prog rock band like ELO might make. Also their track “Amber” got me a kiss from a girl of the same name after I shared it with her. So hell yeah Electric Guest.

20. Frank Ocean – “Pyramids”

Franky might be the break out star of the year. SNL, Coachella, etc. Maybe this year’s male Lana Del Rey. Of course there’s the confusing controversy of him being a gay guy who pals around with a crew who is criticized for using homophobic slurs. But all that matters is that his 9 minute plus lead off single is a banger that takes you on an aural adventure.

19. IconaPop – “I Love It (Solidisco Remix)

This is the first remix on the list. Obviously, if I put the remix instead of the original that must mean the remixer made the song better. IconaPop wrote a really catchy, fun dance track, but their drop was a little off. It was too heavy, and even slightly annoying. Then Solidisco comes in and is like naw y’all gotta make it more ready for the club. And I’m like yes. Perfect. True story.

18. Danny Brown – “Radio Song”

The definition of minimal. This makes the Neptunes sound like a 20-piece orchestra. It reminds me of making lunch table beats in Jr. High. I love what Danny has to say. If I’m listening to Hip-Hop the lyrics are VERY important, which is why Tyga didn’t make the list. Danny’s got some funny lyrics, but nothing is as funny as his appearance. That’s a weird looking dude.

17. Azealia Banks – “212”

The first of a few Vagina centered tracks from some lady rappers on this list. Azealia snuck up on me. I know I’m late if I discover you on the Coachella poster, and everyone else is telling me who you are. But this beat is infectious. Let’s see if she has some more fire in her arsenal.

16. Lady – “Yankin”

Subtlety? Lady knows not of such things. Her pussy be yankin. What else do you need to know? The usage of this song in HBO’s Girls was my favorite TV moment of the year. Truths.

15. Oddisee – “Ain’t That Peculiar”

Oddisee was easily my favorite discovery of the year. Only coming in at #14 because he only blesses us with one verse on this Marvin-laced track. He produces, he raps, he performs with a live band. Dude is a genius. He is getting love in the UK but nowhere near enough in his homeland.

14. Pusha T ft. French Montana – “Everything That Glitters”

I don’t think this was ever released as a single or got a video, but Pusha T was everywhere this year and I burned a hole in my stereo playing this track, so I’m counting it. And Pusha’s Pete Rock and CL Smooth pun wins quote of the year.

13. Iggy Azalea – “Pu$$y”

Oh Iggy where to start. Definitely the hottest newcomer of 2012. The track is called “Pu$$y” and if you know me well, you may know that I love raunchy lyrics over dope beats. I was raised on Luke and 2 Live Crew. She’s hot, can actually wrap, and has a dope sense of style. To say I’m crushing is an understatement.

12. Chet Faker – “No Diggity”

To be honest I was never a big fan of the original version by Blackstreet, so I am always happy to play this version at the lounge because everyone else loves the original and it gets them hyped. Besides a cool name, Chet Faker has a low, breathy voice that reminds me of Bon Iver, with a bit more soul.

11. Usher – “Climax”/ “Climax (Just Kiddin Remix)”

Usher’s album came in at #1 on my Top 10 Albums of the year, and this song was a very large part of that. The Diplo produced “Climax” had both pop and dance fans clamoring earlier this year. Diplo’s original is slow and sexy, which I hope is the future sound of EDM. Just Kiddin came thru with this amazing house remix. It was Usher and Diplo’s original hard work that made Climax banging, but it was Just Kiddin who made this one of the best club tracks of the year.

One Response to “BEST SONGS OF 2012: #11-30”

  1. It’s not my first time to visit this web page, i am browsing this website dailly and get pleasant information from here all the time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

