FAKE BLOOD


It’s about time I do this post. Blogs have been drooling over London-based dance producer Fake Blood for over a year. But recently he has been blowing my mind with a few of his tracks. First off, his remix for Little Boots’ “Stuck on Repeat” is an instant classic. I think I’ve already posted it twice and will definitely be posting it in the Best of 2008 post, so I’ll spare you for now. But his track “Mars” is one of the best pure dance songs I’ve heard all year. It reminds me of those hard hitting Crookers masterpieces. The song also reminds me of the Jock Jams theme song, which isn’t necessarily a good thing, but it is funny. I also love the beat drop-outs in his songs, the music stops and a voice says ‘Fake Blood’ or in this case ‘Mars’:

Fake Blood – Mars

He even has his own self-proclaimed theme song:

Fake Blood – Blood Splashing (Fake Blood Theme)

I don’t know what Fake Blood looks like or if I’ll ever get to see him (or maybe even her) perform in the states, but he is good. There is also some speculation that he has something to do with another London-based group The Black Ghosts. I’m not sure what his involvement is, but he does seem to be close with them.

Fake Blood made a remix of an Armand Van Helden song. I don’t think he improved it but it is a good remix. The original is one of those songs you can’t make better, but the remix is a good reworking of a great song:

Armand Van Helden – I Want Your Soul

Armand Van Helden – I Want Your Soul (Fake Blood Remix)

Speaking of remixes and reworkings, Hip-Hop has been taking a lot of its cues from dance music lately. There is the hugely popular Kid Cudi and Crookers collabo, and Busta Rhymes and Kanye West both sampling Daft Punk. I keep telling my friends how close dance/electro is to Hip-hop. I even like to call it the new Hip-hop. Most people do not feel me on that. But here are some Hip-hop songs that are just straight reworkings/remixes of dance songs. Not even electro, just straight up techno songs. But is reworking and sampling stealing? Or is it showing appreciation?

Federico Franchi – Cream (Original)

Pitbull f/ Lil Jon – Krazy

I hope everyone remembers this Alice DeeJay song. It might take a minute:

Alice DeeJay – Better Off Alone (Original)

Wiz Khalifa – Say Yeah

And I randomly found this looking for the other songs. It all comes full circle:

Wiz Khalifa vs Federico Franchi “Pittsburgh Sound (Pfunkt Hustlin For Dat Cream Remix)

Leave a Reply

