TOP 10 MOVIES OF 2008

I don’t talk about movies much on Golden Bloggen. I keep it mostly music based, but I am indeed a huge film geek. It is my second love after music. Actually its more like 1B. So in honor of my movie geekdom I am posting my Top 10 movies of 2008. Again I can only post what I saw, but I saw a lot.

10. Let the Right One In
Sometimes I feel like movies are made just for me. And then I wonder how the hell they got funding cuz who is going to see them. This was one of them. A very small, quiet Norwegian film about a 12 year-old vampire girl (she only looks 12) who befriends her 12 year-old neighbor boy. This movie is quiet and dark with a lot of snow. But watching  the little girl eat people made it all worth it.
9. Speed Racer
By far and away the most disrespected movie of the year. Everyone hated on this movie, and to me it was for no good reason. Someone said it was “too cartoony.” That’s cuz Speed Racer was a FUCKING CARTOON! And it was a goofy one too. The movie was exciting and really goofy and cartoony. It was everything I wanted it to be. And it was geared to kids, hence the PG-rating. People, what did you want? I realize the creators of the Matrix made this, but this was Speed Racer. 
8. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
I loved this movie but I had really high expectations. The previous occasions in which Brad Pitt and David Fincher worked together they made Seven and Fight Club! This was a much lighter affair but damn it was sad. One of the most beautiful love stories I’ve seen in some years. The first 30-45 minutes hold this film from being ranked higher. It starts of very slow, and though the set up is much needed, lets be honest we were all waiting for Brad Pitt to join the movie (even though he is technically in it from the beginning). Such an original piece of work. See it for yourself, but be patient.
7. Pineapple Express
Danny McBride Star of the Year! Franco nominated for a Golden Globe! This Apatow produced movie was pretty damn good, though it was no Knocked Up or Superbad, it was still really funny. Danny McBride who had a co-starring role was great as always. The other two movies he starred in this year, The Foot Fist Way and Tropic Thunder, would probably be #11 and 12 on my list. Just a good stoner buddy comedy. Definitely good for a night at home if you want to laugh.
6. Vicky Christina Barcelona
Maybe the sexiest movie I’ve ever seen. The gorgeous Penelope Cruz and Scarlett Johansson sharing some steamy screen time together. I don’t want to give too much away but they make out! Hott! And the sexy, freckly Rebecca Hall playing the prudish engaged girl on vacation n Spain (what was she thinking) gave one of the best female performance I’ve seen all year. I love Woody Allen and though he has steered away from comedy more and more recently his dramas have been just as good, if not better.
5. Get Smart
A very pleasant surprise. I was on the fence going into this movie and I enjoyed every second of it. Steve Carrell was hilarious and Anne Hathaway was amazing as always. The supporting cast was as good as the main stars with The Rock, Masi Oka (Hiro from Heroes), and the great Alan Arkin all playing their roles perfectly. Another remake of a show I watched as a kid. So many remakes these days. But this was a good one.
4. W.
This movie was also very disrespected. I thought Oliver Stone making a movie about our bumbling president would be the biggest news of the year. There seemed to be a lot of buzz leading up to the movie, but everyone was upset that Stone chose to portray W. as a human being. Weak excuse. And give the Oscar to Thandie Newton as Condie. Damn, she was completely unrecognizable, she just became Condie. Great cast from top to bottom. Great movie from start to finish.
3. The Dark Knight
What can I say about Batman 6 that you don’t know? It made a billion dollars. It was better than I expected and Heath Ledger gave the best performance of the year. I love when actors can transform into other people (see Robert Downey Jr. in Tropic Thunder). If you didn’t see this movie in IMAX… YOU DIDN’T SEE THIS MOVIE! Pray they re-realease it. Pray goddamnit!
2. Cloverfield
You would think that after 100 years of film making they would run out of shit to do. But every year I get surprised by what someone does. Last year it was Grindhouse. This year it was Cloverfield. I had never seen anything like it in my life. Yeah Blair Witch Project…blah blah blah. But this is a gripping action movie from start to finish that puts you inside the action with the characters. Jaw-dropping.
1. Forgetting Sarah Marshall
And of course my favorite movie of the year Forgetting Sarah Marshall. If you talked to me at all this year, you heard me bring up Sarah Marshall to you at least 5 times. Unbelievably funny, unbelievably truthful. Jason Segel tells his true story of dating actress Linda Cardellini and their break up. The ridiculous sexy Mila Kunis and Kristin Bell steam up the movie screen, Russell Brand as Aldis Snow was hilarious, Jack McBrayer from 3o Rock, Jonah Hill, great cast. And Jason Segel finally gets his own damn movie! Freaks and Geeks rules the world!

Leave a Reply

