MVM – LATE 90’S POP

Marcy Playground – Sex and Candy (1997)
Dir. Jamie Caliri

In 1997 MTV introduced one of the best music video shows ever to be borned. It was called MTV Live. MTV Live was the shit. People like Busta Rhymes, Method Man and Rage Against the Machine would come by the studio talk to Carson Daly or Ananda Lewis and drop of a new music video. One year later it turned into Total Request Live and the collapse of life as we know it began. The introduced their daily Top 10 where screaming girls call in and vote for videos and Busta was substituted for Backstreet Boys and Britney Spears. No disrespect to Britney though.
I put New Radicals on my “Heartbreak Mixtape” last week and they actually inspired me to do this post. This video was part of some controversy as lead singer Gregg Alexander clowns Hanson, Marilyn Manson, Courtney Love, and Beck.
New Radicals – Get What You Give (1998)
Dir. Evan Bernard


I love me some No Doubt. No Doubt crowds are more hyped than Daft Punk or RATM crowds, those 15 year-old girls can be scary. This is them at the height of their popularity. This video, from the “Go” soundtrack, was released this in-between albums and it had No Doubt fans salivating for more.

No Doubt – New (1999)
Dir. Jake Scott

This video came out before the TRL Era started, but it owned 1997 and was one of VH-1’s Top 5 videos that year.
Wallflowers – One Headlight (1996)
Dir. Ken Fox


Damon Albarn is probably my favorite rock star. Not only does he lead the amazing Blur but he has cool side projects like Gorillaz, works with people like Black Ghosts, and makes albums like “Mali Music” in his spare time.

Blur – Coffee & TV (1999)
Dir. Hammer & Tongs


This is one of my earliest memories of rock music I actually liked. 1997 was the year that rock broke for me and it was partly due to Oasis being awesome.

Oasis -D’You Know What I Mean (1997)
Dir. Dom & Nic


This shit is just funny. This song was everywhere, but I remember it blowing up because of the Disturbing Behavior soundtrack. Damn Katie Holmes was looking good. I hope this song makes another huge comeback. I feel like I heard someone use this in a movie recently, if they did they are a genius.

Harvey Danger – Flagpole Sitta (1998)
Dir. Liz Friedlander

Leave a Reply

