MVM – LATE 90’S ROCK

Rage Against the Machine – Guerilla Radio (1999)
Dir. Honey

First off I want to start off by saying FUCK YOUTUBE! All their videos have become disabled, which means I can’t post them on my blog. Whatever. Dailymotion … you my only friend.
Secondly, I’m continuing the same theme I started on last week’s Music Video Monday with “Late 90’s Pop” by exploring a little Late 90’s Rock. Some of these videos aren’t Rock Rock, but more like MTV Rock. The videos they used to show on the MTV’s music video shows.
Some of these videos may be a little on the poppy side for some people but fuck you I love this shit. These are some of the songs that helped me get into rock music. I wish I hadda saved that Oasis video for this post. Oh welp. Enjoy Filter.
Filter – Take My Picture (1999)
Dir. David Meyers

I don’t have to introduce this dude or tell you anything about him. Even Hip-Hop kids listened to him.  And he got Hip-Hop music video director Paul Hunter to make one of the best videos I’ve ever seen. Period. Ladies & Gentleman…. The King of Shock Rock…… MARILYN MANSON!
Marilyn Manson – The Dope Show (1998)
Dir. Paul Hunter

I got into this band when this album came out. This song and Stellar prompted me to buy their breakout album, “Make Yourself.” I really dug their usage of a DJ spinning and scratching over hard rock guitar riffs. I also like Brandon Boyd’s smooth voice. When I got to college in 2001 every chick was in love with that dude Brandon. Plus they’re from the L.A. area, much love to local artists who blow up.
Incubus – Pardon Me (1999)
Dir. Steven Murashige

Whatever happened to Everclear? They were around for a while then blew up with this album in the late 90’s and I haven’t heard from them since. I loved this stuff. I know there’s some rockers out there hating. Whatever…. keep hating.

Everclear – (1997)
Dir. Art Alexakis & Mark Kohr

Can’t go wrong with Foo Fighters. Even if they have a bad song, it gets negated by the fact that Dave Grohl was in Nirvana. Grohl is a jack of all trades. He actually directed this really cool video for his band.

Foo Fighters – My Hero (1998)
Dir. Dave Grohl

Finally this is a song I remember listening to a lot Junior year of High School. I had a crush on my friend Judy and this song perfectly reflected how I felt. Memorieeeeees.

Lit – Miserable (1999)
Dir. Evan Bernard

Leave a Reply

