OLD SCHOOL SUNDAYS – YEAH YEAH YEAHS

I thought I’d post something I love but that was a little different from what I’ve been blogging about recently. 2001 marked a new era in the ever dying genre of rock music. The New York garage rock revival scene was finally breaking through to the mainstream. Bands like the Strokes and Interpol were creating some serious buzz and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs released their self-titled EP. In 2003 they released their debut LP Fever to Tell and blew my fucking mind. How Karen O’s voice mixes the screechy with the melodic was so original and amazing I knew I’d be a fan for a long time. Their newer albums are more melodic and less screechy but I prefer their debut. Anyone can make a good pop song with a nice melody but to add the punk equation into that and do it well was a serious feat.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Y Control

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Date With the Night

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps

Leave a Reply

