TOP 10 SONGS OF 2010

And here is the Top 10!

10. Stromae – Alors on Dance

During my Golden Bloggen Eurotrip earlier this summer I visited Sweden. While watching their VH-1 Top 10 Countdown I noticed their #2 song was Beyonce & Lady Gaga, and the #1 song was this French Jam by this dude named Stromae… they don’t even speak French in Sweden. I had never heard of this cat. Then I went to France the next week and noticed Stromae was #1 there too. Dude is from Beligium. By the end of my month long Eurotrip I had been singing the tune for weeks, had 2 remixes on my computer and wrote a post on GB about it. A few months later Kanye rapped over it for the U.S. version. Just a monster track this year.

9. Chemical Brothers – Swoon

I got to see Chem Bros. twice this year, and surprisingly their two sets were COMPLETELY different. They toured the world in support of their new album Further, which was pretty decent, but the song “Swoon” is such a ridiculous stand-out track. It’s really dancey and doesn’t sound like anything else out right now. Chem Bros. always produce high-quality dance music. They are in their own world. Second only to DP.

8. Big Boi – Shutterbug

Big Boi, one half of Outkast, is a pretty underrated rapper. He doesn’t get as much love from music-heads as Andre, but he can hold it down on his own. Shutterbug is an original sounding Hip-Hop track that mixes grimey Southern sound with an upbeat, club-friendly tempo. Just a good song to get fools dancing, and it also just so happened to be the first track on the “Entourage” season-opener this year.

7. Angus and Julia Stone – Yellow Brick Road

The last folk rock track of the countdown, and thus the best folk rock track of the year. This Australian brother and sister team really made their mark on the States this year. They had everyone jumping on their bandwagon, myself included. I love female vocals, so it’s pretty odd that I chose a track where Angus sings, considering Julia has such a great voice and is such a great musician, but this may be the best written song of the year. I just gets inside you. The Stones are another great band I was fortunate enough to cover in person this year.

6. Doctor P – Sweet Shop

Yes some dubstep made the list. Dubstep is mostly ran by a few cats from the UK; Caspa, Rusko, Skream, Benga, and a few others. All of those guys and every other Dubstep DJ I saw play this year played this fucking track. Hell, almost every DJ dropped this track this year at some point. I remember going to Audiotistic this year and hearing it 3 different times. I have no idea who Doctor P is but I FUCKING love this song.

5. Mark Ronson – Somebody to Love Me

Let’s just say this is a preview of what’s to come on the Top 10 Albums of the Year. Mark Ronson is known for his versatility, but this song shows of the dude’s songwriting chops. The album version credits Rose and Andrew for the vocals, but somehow Boy George got on the single version or something. I’m not sure who’s actually singing on this Mark production, but this is a remarkable song, and a very relate-able topic for me.

4. Sunday Girl – Four Floors (Diplo Remix)

Wow I must’ve played this song more than any other song this year. Both in the privacy of my own home and when spinning at the club. The reason it wasn’t hire is because it was a remix. If Sunday Girl actually made this herself, she would have a new stalker. But Diplo puts some dark, dubsteppy touches on the sappy teen anthem to make it so damn infectious and sexy.

3. Best Coast – When I’m With You

Best Coast again mofo. This was the first single off their debut LP Crazy For You. The first time I heard this song I knew that I heard to know more about this band. I started looking for new articles on the band, pictures, tour dates, whatever I could my hands on. Needless to say they had a huge year and made fans of all of us. Also doesn’t hurt that their from LA.

2. The Roots ft. Jim James – Dear God 2.0

This is kind of cheating, though not technically a remix, it might as well be. The Roots took a Monsters of Folk song that was one of my top songs of 2009, and on the MOF album that was #2 on our Top 10 Albums of 2009, and made it better. Hip-Hop is my first love, and I’m loving the indie folk rock scene right now, so nothing makes me happier than when two opposite world’s collide. I wouldn’t think in a million years that Monsters of Folk would get a Hip-Hop reworking, but I guess I should never underestimate The Roots. There’s also a re-working of Joanna Newsom’s “The Book of Right On” on the same album. Mind blowing!

1. Major Lazer – Pon de Floor

Yes I know, this is from Major Lazer’s 2009 LP Guns Don’t Kill People… Lazers Do, but this had to be the anthem of 2010. I know what you’re saying, “Get of Diplo’s nuts already,” but this track was played to death at every dance festival and at every local dance club for good reason. “Americano” may have been the crossover dance hit of the year, but this was hands down the most played dance song of 2010, and the best. Add Skerrit Bwoy’s ladder climbing, floor ponning antics during Major Lazer’s stage shows and it is a lethal combination. I have to admit that I gave a little extra nod to tracks that were also very successful, what can I say, popularity counts when you’re ranking singles. Trust me, playing a hit at a club definitely gets the crowd moving more than an unknown track, and if it’s good it usual becomes popular anyway.

One Response to “TOP 10 SONGS OF 2010”

  1. I appreciate it for posting “TOP 10 SONGS OF 2010 Golden Bloggen”.
    I personallymay really be coming back for even more reading and writing comments soon.

    Thanks, Major

Leave a Reply

