R.I.P. MCA

Today is an unbelievably sad day. Adam Yauch aka MCA from my all time favorite group, Beastie Boys, has passed away after succumbing to a long bout with cancer. I can’t possibly express how I feel in words. I’ve been broken up all day. Beastie Boys are the group most responsible for making Hip-Hop the biggest artform in the world. 3 white guys impressively  rapping over authentic, yet rock inspired hip-hop beats, helped bring rap to an immeasurable amount of young, impressionable suburban teens. The most important thing was that they were not a gimmick. These guys; Mike D, Ad Rock and of course, MCA, were great. They were immediately accepted by Hip-Hop heads including Run DMC and Def Jam founders Russell Simmons and Rick Rubin.

MCA was always the most reserved of the trio. Maybe even the silent bad boy of the crew. His deep, gravely voice was a stark contrast to Ad Rock and Mike D’s high pitched flows. But his differences didn’t end there. He was also the biggest film geek of the three. Something I always appreciated as a film fanatic myself. He directed a number of their videos, including “Intergalactic”, under the fictional moniker Nathanial Hornblower (his lederhosen sporting imaginary Uncle). And in 2008 he directed hoops documentary Gunnin’ for That #1 Spot. A year prior to that, Beastie Boys released their most ambitious album yet, a full-length instrumental jazz album called The Mix Up. Once again showing us how talented these 3 white kids from New York actually were. I say white kids affectionately, because after all their success, we all stopped seeing them as white kids rapping. They were simply Hip-Hop pioneers, alongside acts like Kurtis Blow, Grandmaster Flash and Run DMC. Literally my favorite group of all-time. A very sad day for me. I will never stop celebrating your genius MCA. You will be incredibly missed.

Beastie Boys – Paul Revere

Beastie Boys ft. Santigold – Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win

Beastie Boys vs Alan Braxe – Beastiality (Intergalactic Bootleg Mix)

One Response to “R.I.P. MCA”

  1. hip hop instrumentals for sale…

    […]R.I.P. MCA « Golden Bloggen[…]…

Leave a Reply

