BEST SONGS OF 2013 #11-30

#11 – Arctic Monkeys – Do I Wanna Know?

There is not a lot of rock on this list, actually this might be the ONLY rock song on the list. But what a track it is. The bluesy rock riffs are extremely reminiscent of The Black Keys, but the Arctic Monkeys are a very legit band in their own right. The songwriting on this song is impressive, keeping it fresh after dozens of plays.

#12 – Iggy Azalea – Work

I can’t say enough about Iggy Azalea. The music, the ass, the sass. I love this chick. She’s a white girl from Australia who raps about hanging out with T.I. and kicking it on Slauson, and also happens to be signed to the Wilhelmena Modeling Agency.Is it too early to call her the best female rapper ever? I don’t think so. Not that there’s much competition.

#13 – M.I.A. – Sexodus

M.I.A.’s latest album Matangi, was hit or miss, a lot like Kanye’s Yeezus. But she did have a couple of banging tracks, including the infectious “Sexodus”. If she ever decides to go full pop and turn down the avant-garde a bit, she may be even more of a force to reckoned with.

#14 – Wild Belle – Keep You

This duo from Chicago made a big splash this year with their dub-flavored pop. “Keep You” is a breezy, poolside ready track that perfectly embodies what its like to roam around Coachella in the afternoon.

#15 – SOHN – The Wheel (Employee of the Year Remix)

Employee of the year had some great remixes, that I just so happened to stumble upon. I thank you guys for sending me your gems. This remix of “The Wheel” perfectly couples SOHN’s haunting vocals with their “Slow French” beats.

#16 – Flume ft. Jezzabell Doran – Sleepless

Young producer Flume was on everyone’s lips this year. His amazing electronica is even better live.

#17 – Drake – Started From the Bottom

Say what you want about Drake or this song, but this was one of the biggest tracks of the year, and before it got played the fuck out, no one could get enough of it. The beat is sick, even if the lyrics are a little inaccurate. You were on Degrassi Aubrey!

#18 – Jim James – Know Til Now

My Morning Jacket’s Jim James’ first solo album was a great surprise. The lead off single “Know Til Now” has some insane ups and downs and breaks. It’s an unpredictable masterpiece and solidifies James as one of the best  singer/songwriters in music.

#19 – Tegan and Sara- I Was a Fool

I think I’ve said enough about Tegan and Sara on Golden Bloggen by now. They are one of my favorite bands of the last 10+ years and they just keep getting better.

#20. Sage the Gemini ft. IamSu – Gas Pedal

This song is probably so high, because I’m just dying for some good hip-hop. Though the lyrics aren’t anything breathtaking, that beat sure is! Ooh wee Sage. This was definitely one of the biggest tracks on Rap radio this year. And Sage’s follow-up “Red Nose” proves he’s no one-hit wonder.

#21. Vinnie Maniscalco – TaKillya

A trap remix of “Tequila”. Need I say more? And I dare you not to yell “Tequila”. I dare you!

#22. Mayer Hawthorne – Her Favorite Song

Not sure if the guest vocalist is Jessie Ware or Crossfade, but this song just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. A tribute to a girl who loves nothing more than getting high and listening to her favorite song. She sounds dreamy.

#23. Tiny Hearts – Snow Cold

A great surprise! Thanks to Uncle Garth Trinidad for putting me on to this. This is an amazing electronica track. 2013 seemed to be the year electronica made a comeback. Thanks to Dede and Wajeed for this one. You guys murdered it.

#23. RJD2 – See You Leave

RJD2 is one of the most soulful producers out.  The rapping and beat go together like PB&J. I love the subject too, girls with nice butts. Thumbs up.

#24. Jessy Lanza – Keep Moving

Jessy Lanza kind of seemed to come out of nowhere. She’s a little trap, a little electronica, and signed to a dubstep label. And her entire album is great too! More Jessy please.

#26. Quadron – Hey Love

Quadron delivered a beautiful mashup of Jazz, Soul, and Electronica on “Hey Love”, one of the biggest break out songs of 2013. I’m actually surprised this wasn’t more of a crossover hit. With Lorde and Gotye breaking through, this seemed ripe for the picking. But I definitely think this track pushed Quadron to another level.

#27. Zero 7 – On My Own

Zero 7 are probably best known for their moody electronica songs that made both them and vocalist Sia very much in demand. But on “On My Own”, it seems like they were channeling Holy Ghost on this house-tinged 9 minute epic. It’s bouncier than any Zero 7 song I’ve ever heard, and I hope we get to here more of this on a new album in 2014.

#28. Empire of the Sun – I’ll Be Around

Empire of the Sun’s second album didn’t have the huge pop hits that their debut album did, but this chill, melodic track was definitely the highlight.

#29. inc. – Black Wings

White boys haven’t made R&B sound this good since Color Me Badd. LA’s own inc. are two guys who make slow, thoughtful R&B that may remind some listeners of James Blake. Their debut album “No World” is filled with laid back, sexy, love making music. Get some.

#30. Midi Matilda – Day Dreams (MyKill Remix)

SF’s MyKill makes that perfect Frisco Disco. This song is a little darker than some of fellow Frisco Discoer Viceroy’s tracks, but I like dark. The echoey vocals and heavy bass make this a stand out track.

Leave a Reply

