NEW KOOL ETHAN MIX – “GROOVE2RUDE”

I recorded a new mix over the weekend and planned to post it today. When I woke up this morning I received the disheartening news that DJ Mehdi had passed. My new mix “Groove2Rude” has the typical Kool Ethan sound of 80’s songs next to old and new House and Hip-Hop tracks, but one of the standout tracks on the mix has got to be the new track from Carte Blanche. Carte Blanche is a collaboration between DJ Mehdi and Riton. I’ve been digging their sound since I caught them at Sonar in Barcelona last summer. I was really bummed when I missed them at HARD Summer last month, but I thought I’d just catch them the next time around.

DJ Mehdi will always be remembered as one of the most energetic DJ’s ever. I’ve seen him a handful of times and his live shows are filled to the brim with his trademark hand-clapping, dancing and constant ear-to-ear smiling. His energy was infectious. But above all he was an exceptional DJ and producer. His career highlights include all his work with Ed Banger Records and his participation as a member of Club 75. Mehdi, you will truly be missed.

If that wasn’t enough for one day, today also happens to be the 15-year anniversary of Tupac’s death. September 13th is turning out to be quite a tragic day. With all that said, please enjoy the mix. It starts off with some familiar groovy tracks then gets into some pretty hardcore dance shit. Enjoy!

Kool Ethan – Groove2Rude Mix

Groove2Rude Tracklist:
1. Edie Brickell – “What I Am”
2. Brand Nubian – “Slow Down”
3. A Tribe Called Quest – “1nce Again”
4. Mtume – “Juicy Fruit”
5. White Town – “Your Woman”
6. Etienne De Crecy – “Scratched”
7. 6th Borough Project – “Just a Memory Through The Grapevine (Leewise Remix)”
8. The Whispers – “And the Beat Goes On”
9. Miguel Migs ft. Lisa Shaw – “Lose Control”
10. Mr. Scruff – “Get a Move On”
11. Puzique – “Don’t Go”
12. Tensnake – “Something About You”
13. Duck Sauce – “Good 2 Me (Louis La Roche Edit)”
14. Modjo – “Lady (Hear Me Tonight)”
15. Carte Blanche ft. Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip – “With You”
16. Douster – “For Weirdos Only (Momma’s Boy Remix)”
17. Tiffany – “I Think We’re Alone Now”
18. Oliver Twizt – “You’re Not Alone”
19. Suzanne Vega – “Tom’s Diner (Bingo Players Bootleg)”
20. Don Rimini – “Let Me Back Up (Crookers Remix)”
21. Fedde Le Grand ft. Mr. V – “Back & Forth”
22. DJ Cabide – “My Neck, My Back”
23. Afrojack – “Frontal”
24. Cassius – “Youth Speed Trouble Cigarettes”
25. Jay-Z & Kanye West – “Otis (Aylen Remix)”

5 Responses to “NEW KOOL ETHAN MIX – “GROOVE2RUDE””

  1. Is there a zipfile for this with all the different tracks? I love this mix, thanks so much!

  2. online bingo…

    […]NEW KOOL ETHAN MIX – “GROOVE2RUDE” « Golden Bloggen[…]…

  3. Lovely mix, captain. Respect from Chicago.

  4. Lovely mix, captain. I’m a fan of funky house and I’m a fan of hip-hop (and many of the songs sampled by hip-hop producers over the years). Seldom can both be found in the same mix. 🙂 And you threw some Whispers in here. Thanks for sharing this. Respect from Chicago.

Leave a comment