OLD SCHOOL SUNDAYS – A-HA

There are certain bands I’d never thought I’d get a chance to see in concert. Rage Against the Machine and Paul McCartney were on that list, and I eventually saw both of them at Coachella. A-ha were also on that list, but I was able to see them celebrate their 25th Anniversary at Club Nokia last night. I’m sure everyone knows who A-ha is, but I think most people only know their hit single “Take on Me.” That was the only song I had ever heard from them until a  few years ago, when I discovered that the guys were actually pretty successful abroad. They have had a number of hit albums in Europe, and are very well received in their homeland of Norway. One of their biggest accomplishments is penning the theme song to the James Bond film Living Daylights. If you record a Bond theme, you are immediately solidified in history. But I love their sound. I am a huge fan of 80’s music and their new wave, synth pop style is one of the best things to come out of the 80’s. They gave a solid 2 hour performance last night,which concluded with the amazing performance of the aforementioned “Take on Me.” Lead singer Morten Harket didn’t turn into a cartoon, but the performance was still unforgettable.  I think they said it had been almost 20 years since the last time they performed in L.A. I don’t know if that’s true, but it sure was special to see them live.

CLICK HERE FOR PICS

A-ha – Take On Me

A-ha – Living Daylights

A-ha – Hunting High and Low

2 Responses to “OLD SCHOOL SUNDAYS – A-HA”

  1. I saw them in Chicago last week. Amazing! (Recap here: http://lovelysalome.blogspot.com/2010/05/ha.html) They haven’t performed in the US (except for one show in NY in 2005) since 1986, so I feel damn lucky to have had the chance!

  2. ive seen them three times now, manchester was the best. going to see them on tues I can`t wait!!!!

Leave a comment